National Siblings Day 2015

My siblings and me after an engagement in Gary, Indiana. Left to right:  Pat (my sister), Billy (my brother), DonnaJeanne (me), Alfred Johnson (our accompaniast), Floretta (my Mother), Charles (my brother)

My siblings and me after an engagement in Gary.
Left to right: Pat (my sister), Billy (my brother), DonnaJeanne (me), Alfred Johnson (our accompaniast), Floretta (my Mother), Charles (my brother)

Yesterday I noticed, and commented on, several facebook posts of friends pictures with their families. Later on in the evening, I noticed my grand-nieces posting collages consisting of various snapshots that it hit me. It was National Siblings Day.

At first, I thought it was a social media thing. Wanting to “join in on the fun,” I quickly scrambled for photos of my siblings that I could post. Two of them have been “on the other shore” for many years. And it’s been almost two years since the remaining one joined them. I just don’t have a lot of photos of us together; but I have an awesome idea for next year.

With this being an “ancestry” blog, I don’t have plans to post about family in general — just ancestors. But stories about my siblings will undoubtedly be woven into some of my future posts. So, in observance of Siblings Day 2015, I will just share the photos I used on facebook yesterday.

My quickly-thrown-together facebook cover photo in observance of National Siblings Day 2015.  It's a portrait of my sister, Pat, and me circa 1975.

My quickly-thrown-together facebook cover photo in observance of National Siblings Day 2015. It’s a portrait of my sister, Pat, and me circa 1975.

I am one of many who are particular about what they share on social media. So I hope this catches on in the blogging community.

2 thoughts on “National Siblings Day 2015

  1. Pingback: My Mother’s Day Tribute – 2015 | Daughter of Slave Ancestry

  2. I missed it and it is now on my calendar with a reminder for the next 20 years. I didn’t see anything about it yesterday but this morning (European time) the newsfeed on Facebook was full of wonderful photographs. Beautiful smiles on your “quickly-thrown-together facebook cover photo”!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.